Offensive Line - How do they fix it?

minibeaver

Reaction score
So Coach came out and said this is the area that is hurting us the most, and they need to figure something out.

I'm not an X and O's guy, so I thought maybe someone with more knowledge could give us some insight into how the Coaches might go about figuring it out.

Subtle scheme change?

More run plays that spread out the D, allowing the middle to open up?

Different blocking scheme?

Different players?

Not starting a pi$$ing match about players, or this guy or that guy sucks.
Just looking for some insight as to what the Coaches might be doing with the O Line this week.

Thoughts?

I'm no expert but I'd like to see them give this lineup a shot: Pirsig - Campion - Bobek - Mayes - Bush

This would allow Lauer and Bjorklund (to some extent) to heal up. Campion is better suited inside IMO, especially right now as he's banged up. He struggled on Saturday outside. Fall camp reports suggest Bush struggled at LT in but was better at RT, and I thought he held up ok against TCU.

As far as scheme, with so many of our TE's hurt I'd like to see us play more 3 or 4 WR sets to spread things out a little and run more read option and mix in some hurry up. I realize the risk of Leidner getting injured is there, but we need a boost on offense and it gives us another option to move the ball that has worked in the past. It should make things a little easier on the O-Line as well.

I don't think there is a magic solution for our problems unfortunately. What we need is to stay healthy and to build some continuity.