Hawkeye Fan coming in peace...

PapaHawk21

Reaction score
I am currently a student at the University of Iowa but went to high school at Lakeville North in the south metro. I follow Minnesota sports closely and have many friends that attend the U of M. I work for the student radio station at Iowa as a sports analyst and co-host a student tv show regarding college sports. Here is my two cents regarding the gopher football program. I hope that this can be a civil discussion because there is nothing more enjoyable than a lively college football discussion.

Tim Brewster, while sometimes outlandish in his claims, is probably the right coach for Minnesota. He is bringing in talent, energy and fire to a program that needs a new identity. His first three seasons, while not great in our instant gratification society, lead me to believe Minnesota will be a much better program soon. This issues that seem to be holding the program back stem from discontinuity in the coaching staff, the coordinators more specifically. When a team fails to keep coordinators inevitably the structure of a team will deteriorate. Iowa has been able to keep a core group of coordinators in the Ferentz Era, which allows recruits and players to feel the comfort of stability. I do not know if the core group at Minnesota are the right guys but in the long-run continuity establishes stability and unity within a program.