Chip Armeilin

Thunderlips

Reaction score
I was basically courtside for tonights game, and got to see it up close. Chip Armeilin (SP?), that kid can play! He has a great future ahead of him. Very excited to see that from a FR.

Absolutely, I was impressed with him as well. Not afraid to make things happen.

Pretty amazing that basically nobody wanted him. He is so athletic!!! I like him a lot too!!

The thing that I feel sets Chip apart from the other freshmen we have is his confidence. He doesn't seem to be thinking to much and just going with the flow of the game.

The Gophersports game blog mentioned that Chip was being recruited for football and everyone thought that was the route he was going to go so he had few offers for basketball. Unfortunately I couldn't see the game since I am a poor college student but I am definately excited to see this kid play

I think size had something to do with Chip slipping under the radar. He's a small wing. I bet he's about 6'1 or 6'2, and he's built like a safety. He's an athlete though and might carve a niche for himself as a nice college player. The real test for him will be conference play when he's matched up against other athletic wings 2-4 inches taller than him.

I was impressed with his strength adn quickness as well. For a Game 1 freshman, he was fearless and only made the one dumb play that I recall. If he can be counted on to hit the open jumper in the bigger games, he will be a valubale addition to this team this year not down the road.

I think we caught a glimpse of defensive strategy we will see all year with the way Wofford handled Blake. It was clear they were not going to allow him to beat them and they were all over him from the first minute. If Blake is going to get a little room, it will be important for guys like Chip to take advantage of being ignored defensively.

Pretty nice pick up for a late summer recruit.