Kill: Average weight gain of O-line is 15-20lbs of muscle

BleedGopher

Reaction score
per this tweet from Justin Gaard:

"@jgkfan: Coach Kill tells Alumni event in Chicago that he estimates the average weight gain for offensive lineman is 15-20 lbs of muscle."

Go Gophers!!

Big, powerful offensive linemen with solid technique make the whole offense better. With all the "meh" on the recruiting trail right now, this is some really, really good news. Line 'em up and mow 'em down.

I'm not a doctor, but the various online sites I've read claim you really can only gain 2-3 pounds of lean muscle per month at max.
Jerry isn't a liar, but there may be a little pudge behind the weight gain as well.

These guys aren't your average person so outrageous weight gains as well as strength increases isn't unheard of. Also, most are still relatively young so big jumps aren't unheard of.

I'm not a doctor, but the various online sites I've read claim you really can only gain 2-3 pounds of lean muscle per month at max.
Jerry isn't a liar, but there may be a little pudge behind the weight gain as well.

You do realize he's not saying they gained 15-20 pounds in a month, right?

2-3 pounds per month, this is July the 8th month since the season ended. Therefore there should be 16-24 pounds of lean muscle mass added. Now that is the upper limit of what can be done, so lets say 15-20 is well within what is reasonable. And why would Coach Kill even mention it if it was not a fact?

I really have no idea how accurate the 15-20 lbs statement is by Kill, but I think the amount of muscle that 18-20 year old guys who are 6'6" 275 lbs can add is probably different from the average person.

2-3 pounds per month, this is July the 8th month since the season ended. Therefore there should be 16-24 pounds of lean muscle mass added. Now that is the upper limit of what can be done, so lets say 15-20 is well within what is reasonable. And why would Coach Kill even mention it if it was not a fact?