Tracy Claeys defense

I've coached football since graduating college in the 90s...all but 2 years HS. I am a DC/LB coach. We gave up 5.8 ppg one year; 30.3 ppg the next; and 9.7 the year after. What do you think the difference was?

It's not so much your Xs and Os; it's your Jims and Joes.
(That's true more so for HS than college b/c you play the hand your dealt year to year. However, I think that rings very true for this squad!)
It was all you! At least that's what the parents thought I bet.

It was all you! At least that's what the parents thought I bet.
From the 30 point year to the 10 point year....I became a D genius from the perspective graduated players' parents!!!!!

Or they can't successfully develop the talent they recruited...
Or they can't successfully develop the talent they recruited...
Here’s a thought.
Fleck’s first class was thrown together late. Then kids see that the defense has some studs and they may not see the field as they had hoped. Then Fleck ups the recruiting and is able to redshirt some kids. Now he’s stuck for a year with losing 7 off his defense and kids have little experience behind them. We’ll be ok.

What happen to the LB from Anoka? He played in one game. I know he won like 1 or 2 games his whole HS career at Anoka.
No idea but it is really tough recruiting players off of bad football programs (no offense to anoka) because you can rack up tackles and stats when you’re the only guy but are you good at playing a role when you aren’t a stud?

kind of hit and miss

I know nothing about the anoka kid other than that I know he exists

Has TC lost weight?

I hope so, because he was not going to see 65 if he keeps up what he had been doing.