STrib: Seven Teams Move to Leave WCHA

Ignatius L Hoops

Active member
Seven members of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association — including Bemidji State and Minnesota State Mankato — initiated the process to leave the league and form a new men's conference that would begin play in the 2021-22 season.

In an announcement released Friday through athletics consultant Morris Kurtz, a former St. Cloud State athletic director, the seven schools — which also include Bowling Green, Ferris State, Lake Superior State, Michigan Tech and Northern Michigan — independently submitted formal letters of notice to the WCHA office initiating the withdrawal process. The seven teams will play in the WCHA in the 2019-20 and 2020-21 seasons.


Active member
Alaska is doomed in a sense as to their hockey program. I'm hearing that Arizona State also is having trouble getting teams to play them.

Latest profile posts