MN vs. FCS championship game teams

alphagopher

Reaction score
Watching the Villanova-Montana game...curious what the consensus is out there about how we'd match up against either of these teams, and if we'd have a shot at winning...they both look tough and could probably beat a good amount of lesser fbs teams...talent wise there's no contest, obviously, but execution and game planning by these teams looks to be high and tight.

Our Sagarin predictor score says we'd beat Montana and lose to Villanova. Though, Montana would basically be a toss-up.

When Nova goes to the Wildcat, all I see is Kafka running ape-poopy over the Gophers circa 2008.

Sidenote, pre-internet, I'd have been 100% behind Montana before this game. A certain poster on this board fueled my Grizzly hatred. Suck it, Richard Cranium.

I have been beating the FCS / mid-major drum for a couple of years now, not because I have a horse in that race, but since it seems obvious there has been a narrowing gap in quality. Okay, don't start in about Texas et al because I'm not talking about FCS teams competing for the BCS title. However, it seems evident that the last 10 or fifteen years have brought 1) restricted numbers of scholarships 2)more quality players than ever to fill available scholarships and 3) a growing number of sophisticated, effective coaches that are settling in at all levels of college ball. Add to that the BCS penchant for scheduling a load of "lesser" programs, which has as a by-product a hardening effect on what might otherwise be less confident teams and you have upsets and increased parity. That's my story and I'm sticking to it. You guys can do the research on upsets and the like the last several years if you're of a mind to.