Letter from Tracy Claeys

Tracy has some points to be made, I just don't think he's very good at making them.

"I’ve been a football coach for 23 years. From Saginaw Valley State in Michigan to Emporia State University in my home state of Kansas. From Southern Illinois University to Northern Illinois — and eventually to the University of Minnesota.

Over the years, that has added up to countless practices, film sessions and game days. I’ve had the good fortune to be part of a successful coaching staff and the opportunity to lead a great program as the head coach of the Minnesota Golden Gophers.

And through it all, the focus has been on the players. Those 18-22-year-olds that you mentor about respecting others, going to class and working hard. And that if you get out of line in football or in life, there are consequences.

However, a review released last week questioned my leadership, and that of my coaches, concerning the suspensions of U of M football players last fall and the decision by players to boycott the Holiday Bowl. To better understand that decision, let’s look back at how we got there.

Last September, I suspended five players for a reported sexual assault. When law enforcement authorities the following month declined to file any charges, the university reinstated those players. At the time, I was congratulated by our athletic director for my handling of this issue and promised that I would remain the head football coach in 2017.

But university officials soon conducted their own inquiry and in December re-suspended the five players and suspended five more — again, even though prosecutors had determined there was no basis for formal charges.