Is the Gopher fan base really that old?

Hates Monikers

Reaction score
The Zulgad thread alluded to the Gopher fan base being gray, and I just heard him talk about it on the air. I've been hearing this since the 1980s. After having Gopher basketball season tickets for 23 years and football tickets for 10, I have to disagree. Yet, the media continues to throw it out there and it pisses me off.

Am I wrong?

For context, I'm 50. If 50 and up is what we're talking about, then every fan base is old. Sure, there are fans there who are older than that wearing sweaters. But from my seat in section 103, I see very little gray hair (okay, Laker Fan sitting next to me is gray, but he's younger than I am :p). I see young children walking up and down the aisles and 30-somethings all around us. I see very little gray tailgating at East River Flats. And in visiting other stadiums during the football season, it's clear that many older alums go to their games, too.

Of course we have older fans who go to games. Thank god. We simply need more fans of all ages, old and young. In particular, the U could do more to keep the 20-somethings, where price keeps many at home. But I see far more fans in their 30s, 40s and 50s than I see of those who are older. I think the "old" fan base line no longer applies. I think people who go to games know this.

Am I the only one who believes this?

I haven't seen any detailed demographics.

-Goes back to watching the Matlock marathon on the Hallmark Channel-