An inside look at the bloodbath at Foxsports.com

Pompous Elitist

Reaction score
I'm no expert on digital media but the following seems like a textbook case of managerial chutzpah, shortsightedness, and miscalculation. As an avid fan, I couldn't care less what Shannon Sharpe or Bayless say. I do really enjoy the opinions and insight of people like Stew Mandel and Bruce Feldman and they are being laid off from their writing jobs (I believe Feldman still has TV work).

From Awful Announcing

The room (and those watching via a stream) were absolutely shocked by the admission that written original content would now have little to no place at Fox Sports and that social news, which was a huge driver of the group’s recent turnaround, was now being signaled out as something to specifically avoid. The reaction from staffers was universal.

“I don’t know how my ears didn’t bleed during the presentation.”

“Everyone who saw the presentation was devastated. Absolutely devastated”

“I knew I didn’t have a job going forward. I just wish he waited closer to the end of people’s contracts or the planned layoffs to tell us we’re all worthless. These last six months have been miserable.”

“He put up examples of content that he said didn’t work for Fox anymore. The writers of that content were IN THE ROOM and a lot of the examples he showed performed quite well. It was more than apparent that Jamie didn’t know what he was doing on the digital side. It was degrading. It was surreal. We were crushed.”

“I don’t think it was done out of malice. When Jamie presents, he thinks he is Don Draper and everyone just thinks he is a genius. He’s not Don Draper, though, and we joke that he’s Donald Trump. He’s totally oblivious.”

“Nobody embraced his vision because it’s ****ing stupid. Anybody other than his lackeys can tell you that. Everything we had built and accomplished was getting thrown away for THIS ****ing guy?”