Fairbault County Register: Pirsig eyes path to pros at Cali’s NFLPA game

BleedGopher

Reaction score
per the Fairbault County Register:

Thrust into the Gophers' team-wide protest of a 10-player suspension by the university, an ordeal that had the roster threatening to boycott Dec. 27's Holiday Bowl and may or may not have fueled coach Tracy Claeys' dismissal a week later, Pirsig hardly had a moment to breathe before wrapping up his college career and returning to California, where he was invited for the National Football League Players Association's annual Collegiate Bowl.

And yet, to the big man awaiting a potential path to professional football, miles and miles from home with pressure of an upcoming career mounting by the day, all is well.

"This is my first time in California, and I've been out here training for the last week and a half," Pirsig said Tuesday. "It's a pretty good situation to be in."

Not only because the West Coast weather is treating him a little nicer than, say, the wintery mix of hometown Southern Minnesota.

"I've had a place to stay and I'm working out, getting ready for the Collegiate Bowl, which is actually a weeklong thing," he said. "It's been nice."

Invited to the 2017 event along with Gophers quarterback Mitch Leidner and a wide range of other commits, Pirsig anticipates a sizable opportunity to play in the honorary game, which will be broadcast on Fox Sports 1 (FS1) from Carson, California's StubHub Center on Jan. 21.

And he knows that every snap he takes both in the game and at the practices leading up to it could be crucial to his future post-college.

"It's kind of one last chance to catch the eye of a scout," he said. "It's still pretty early for them to be talking about the draft, but that's what this, the Senior Bowl, the Combine and pro days are for."