Q&A: Lifelong Gopher Fan Matthew Morse Fulfills Dream After Committing to Minnesota

GopherHole Staff

GopherHole Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
Q&A: Lifelong Gopher Fan Matthew Morse Fulfills Dream After Committing to Minnesota

By Chris Monter

http://www.gopherhole.com/news_article/show/472523?referrer_id=

Matthew Morse, a 6-foot-1, 190-pound senior from Apple Valley (MN) High, recently committed to Minnesota as a preferred walk-on.

Gopher Hole caught up with Morse Wednesday evening to learn the latest on his decision.

Gopher Hole: You committed to Minnesota as preferred walk-on. When did you do that and what was the reason that you decided that Minnesota was where you wanted to be?

Matthew Morse: I officially committed last night (Tuesday). I was given the opportunity on Sunday. The "U" has always been my goal since I started playing football. My grandpa played there in the late 50's as a running back and from hearing stories about him playing and the great job that Coach Kill has been doing now, it has always been my goal to play at that level and play for a great team in the Big Ten.

Gopher Hole: What is your grandfather's name?

Matthew Morse: Robert Morse.

Gopher Hole: What other schools were you looking at when you made the decision?

Matthew Morse: Originally, it was between St. Thomas and Minnesota Duluth and this kind of came out of nowhere and this was exactly where I wanted to go, so I took that opportunity.

Gopher Hole: How did Minnesota find out about you?

Matthew Morse: I had been to a couple of recruiting days, like game day visits, but I really tried to sell myself. I sent them multiple e-mails. I'm sure that I annoyed them with that, but I just let them know that was always my goal and I would do what I could to be a part of the team. I don't know if it was pity and they wanted to stop receiving those e-mails, but they gave me that opportunity.

Gopher Hole: It shows you that persistence pays off, right?

Matthew Morse: Yes. Exactly.