Things getting critical for Crean @ IU?

Just saw this across ESPN. Definitely not looking good for him

As an IU grad, I'm pretty damn embarrassed by the state of things. Unacceptable.

Go Indiana Go
Go Indiana Go.
Down the floor
And out the door.
Go Indiana Go.

Their roster for the first two regular season games...

Guards: Yogi Ferrell, James Blackmon, Nick Zeisloft (only 6.9 ppg at Illinois St)
Forwards: Nobody, Nobody, Nobody
Centers: Nobody, Nobody,

Are we sure they won't struggle against those two teams, no matter how bad they are??

All three players will be eligible to return for Indiana's Nov. 20 home game against SMU.

332qz6h.jpg

CBS: Disconnect between Tom Crean and players has Indiana in disarray

My guess: Somebody with knowledge of the failed drug tests recognized leaking them now is a good way to pile on Crean, and, well, it worked. The seventh-year coach spent his first coaches show listening to a caller ask why he still has a job, and, unless Crean overachieves with this roster, that question will be repeated lots over the next four months.

None of which means Tom Crean is a bad guy.

None of which means Tom Crean is a terrible coach.

(Personally, I've known him for a while and like him just fine.)

All this means is that Tom Crean is in a tough spot at a high-profile job with a passionate fan base, and those tough spots are hard to escape. Yes, I know, he has a buyout of $12 million, and that's an awesome job by his agent. But $12 million won't prevent a school with Big Ten money from pulling the plug on a coach overseeing a roster in disarray who doesn't win enough, and that's why Tom Crean had better win enough this season. Or else.

http://www.cbssports.com/collegebas...tom-crean-and-players-has-indiana-in-disarray

Go Gophers!!

Gregg Doyel (who recently left CBS to take a columnist job at the Indy Star): IU basketball's problems are an 'epidemic'