Chip on U attendance: Coyle, football program have a lot of work to repair disconnect

My personal take as a former 10 year season ticket holder is that pricing should be 'tuned' to achieve a full stadium. The only year they got this right was year one at TCF. Raising prices on an 80% full stadium is one of the dumbest things I've ever seen. I would also have no problem with bringing back some type of bundling to fill the student section.

For me, it is all about tailgating. I'm in my early 30's and if they want me to keep my season ticket (had season tickets since I was a Freshman at the U in 2003) the next few years, the tailgating situation needs to improve. I typically am donating (which is required with my season tickets) between $1000-$1300/season and have not been able to get a tailgate lot anywhere near the stadium. And, I don't mean the lots immediately next to the stadium either. It has been beyond frustrating to drive past some of those tailgate lots and seem them half empty (or more) only to find out every year I go to renew every year that nothing is available in those said tailgate lots. I don't know what you do differently, but if I ever got a pass, I know I would be out there every home game.

There are other things that bother me, but that to me is the most frustrating thing about it.

I agree with this completely. When I think "game day atmosphere," it's the mostly the pre-game. I've been to Wisconsin, Nebraska and Maryland recently, and their piped-in music, announcer-read ads, etc. are similar. In fact, there was far more piped in rock music in Madison two weeks ago than there is here. That hasn't hurt their attendance or excitement.