Brewster thoughts going into Year 3

CWCWCW

Reaction score
It's hard to believe that Brewster has been in charge of our team for three years. My own observations are as follows. I'd be curious to hear what others think.

Here are some of the best things I like about Brewster:

* He is a a tireless worker. He does not have innate advantages at the U of M. It's going to take a lot of work. Brewster has shown that he is up to the task.

* He is willing to change. I was not a fan of Mike Dunbar's offense from the get-go. Evidently, Brewster realized that wasn't going to work, and he was able to get rid of Dunbar graciously and try again with a different perspective.

* Recruiting. Brewster hasn't landed the biggest fish from home, but, he's done better than Mason. I'm not an expert, but I can tell that most of the recruiting competition is coming from bigger schools. Again, Mason seemed like many of his recruits had a choice between Toledo and Western Michigan.

* Scheduling. Brewster wants to upgrade the schedule. I don't know if this is wise in building a winning team or not, but for me personally, I'd much rather watch a talented Cal Bear team than the Bobcats from Montana State.

* General Enthusiasm. C'mon. Not even close. Brewster never met a camera, microphone or an internet site that he didn't take advantage of. Sometimes too schmaltzy for me, but publicity is publicity. For this team, in this state, the head coach needs to be an ambassador to the program. Again, Mason lacked severely on this level. His smugness and general feeling of "why should I do that...they don't do that at PSU, Ohio State, Michigan, etc." Well, Minnesota isn't any of those schools, and yes, you DO need to do those things here.

Now, some of the things I don't care for: