Tell me what you think...

Weisbrod

Banned
Reaction score
I'm a sports writer for a paper up north. I would love some feedback on my latest column possibility:

Adam Weber is one of the top three quarterbacks in the Big Ten, Eric Decker is an All-American receiver, Duane Bennett is a dangerous double-threat running back and Hayo Carpenter is a five-star talent at out wide.
The offensive line is massive, led by Notre Dame transfer Matt Carufel (6-3, 320) and juco transplant Jeff Wills (6-3, 370).
The defense is strongest in the back with former Wisconsin safety Kim Royston leading the way.
The linebackers are spearheaded by emerging star Simoni Lawrence while the D-Line has the ability to stuff the run.
So why does everyone have the Minnesota Gophers picked to finish in the bottom third of the Big Ten?
It’s pretty simple, really.
Scheduling.
Outside of home goes against Purdue and South Dakota State, there is no slam-dunk, sure-fire victories on the slate.
Not only do the Gophers have to play Penn State and Ohio State on the road in back-to-back weeks, but the nonconference schedule also features home games against Cal and Air Force as well as a trip to Syracuse to open the season.
And Michigan and Indiana, the two teams picked to finish directly above and below Minnesota in the standings, respectively, aren’t even on the schedule.
Let’s put it this way: All but three of the teams the Gophers play had a winning record last season.
But to truly grasp what Minnesota is up against; let’s walk through every game and breakdown the matchups.
Sept. 5: at Syracuse
Probably going to be a victory, but it’s the first game of the season, and anything can happen.
Sept. 12: Air Force
Believe me, the Falcons do not care that Minnesota is opening a brand new, on-campus stadium this week. This one’s a complete toss-up.
Sept. 19: California