Games on tape -a little help

whogoofed

Reaction score
Hi, I went through some boxes in the garage and found one with a bunch of gopher games on VHS tapes. I have nearly all the big ten games from 1997, several of the NCAA games from that year and a couple games from the Vashon L. years. Would anyone be interested in converting these to DVDs and maybe posting on youtube for everyones enjoyment? I won't have the time to do that. I'd like to get them back on DVD and will send a bunch of blank discs to start with.

Plenty of places that will do a VHS to DVD conversion. Here's one local place's link for example:

http://www.savingtape.com/vhs-to-dvd-transfer.php

I was a sophomore in 1997 with Season tix, and I went to every game that season, including driving all the way back from home in southern WI for the games over the holidays, so archiving some of these games for re-viewing would definitely mean something to me. I'd especially love to see that Illini @ Minn game where JT hit the throws to clinch (have yet to see that game on the BTN's "Greatest Games" dockett (but maybe I missed it).

All that said, I'd be willing to take this project on, but I certainly don't want to get stuck with the bill for converting all those hours of VHS to DVD. Hopefully somebody here on GH can do this with their own equip?

I'm pretty sure the whole youtube bit is illegal.

I'm pretty sure the whole youtube bit is illegal.
Plus YouTube has a limit on the length of videos. Pretty sure a complete game would exceed the limit. I've done VHS conversions, but it takes a lot of time (since you have to play the VHS in real time) and a huge amount of disc space. I still think it's a good idea, but I don't have the time to take it on.