Shooter: USC "has the Gophers' Tubby Smith on its radar"

BleedGopher

Reaction score
per Shooter:

"There's already whispering that Southern California, which fired Kevin O'Neill as men's basketball coach the other day, has the Gophers' Tubby Smith on its radar. At USC, Smith could end up with $1 million more in annual compensation than he gets from the Gophers, for a total of about $3 million. And he would have state-of-art facilities, including a practice facility like the one he has coveted at Minnesota.

Smith's contract runs through the 2016-17 season but includes an understanding that new terms can be discussed after this season. If he gets the Gophers to the Sweet 16 in the NCAA tournament, it's almost imperative that Minnesota renegotiate."

http://www.twincities.com/sports/ci_22428649/charley-walters-zach-parises-parents-enjoying-view-from

Go Gophers!!

If TJ shows up on campus as a student, I would agree that we should rewrite Tubby's contract. If not, we should sell him to the first bidder and let him walk.

per Shooter:

"There's already whispering that Southern California, which fired Kevin O'Neill as men's basketball coach the other day, has the Gophers' Tubby Smith on its radar. At USC, Smith could end up with $1 million more in annual compensation than he gets from the Gophers, for a total of about $3 million. And he would have state-of-art facilities, including a practice facility like the one he has coveted at Minnesota.

Smith's contract runs through the 2016-17 season but includes an understanding that new terms can be discussed after this season. If he gets the Gophers to the Sweet 16 in the NCAA tournament, it's almost imperative that Minnesota renegotiate."

http://www.twincities.com/sports/ci_22428649/charley-walters-zach-parises-parents-enjoying-view-from

Go Gophers!!

So after six years Tubbys wins his first ncaa tournament games at MN, and a sweet 16 appearance entitles him to a new contract? What am I missing?