Myron Reference from his MN ST MKTO days.

Dr.Don

Reaction score
found this while reading comments on Myron's big article about "rumors".

Myron Medcalf.
If you were to read some of the stuff he wrote while at Minnesota State University-Mankato, you'd be hard pressed to give him any credibility. Just Google "BAMM-Myron Medcalf". He wrote some pretty stupid stuff for being what seems like a pretty intelligent guy.

posted by njbehlen on Jan 31, 09 at 4:14 pm |
Do you like this comment?

After the riots, white people and hate mail, we're left with one question: was his column really named Black Angry Myron Medcalf (BAMM)?

Okay, I was willing to give Myron the benefit of the doubt as a professional reporter, even if I don't like the tone or the timing of many of his articles.

But now having read about his background, I guess I should expect more "provocative" pieces in the future...:rolleyes:

I was a student at MSUM during this period and remember the events.

I was at the riot, and like 95% percent of the people there, I was observing and not participating. After the events Myron (BAMM) wrote a column blaming the events on White Male Priviledge. One of his comments was basically "White males have never had anyone tell them they cannot do something before." As a biracial student I thought the article was the most perposterous thing I have ever seen written in print. Like someone mentioned in the editors it wasnt only white males doing the rioting that night.

Also he wrote an article on Columbus day calling it "rape and steal" day. He doesnt think we should honor Columbus day because it marks the day Americans raped and stole etc etc.

Myron was a major hack.... I hope he has since learned. His words did nothing but set back the campus from a race relations prospective.... which sucked.