Jimmy Williams Trial - Day 2

GopherLady

Reaction score
The members of college basketball's coaching fraternity know the unwritten rule -- head coaches have the power to hire and fire their assistants without their athletic director's approval -- lawyers for former Gophers assistant Jimmy Williams argued Monday.

http://www.startribune.com/sports/94015774.html

I think the article pretty much confirms what we all knew...power coaches make their own rules. :) Or at least they think they do. But will that stand up in court?

I think the suit against Maturi was dismissed because he was obviously just doing his job (and following the real rules).

BTW, I agree fully with your previous post about not quitting a current job without making sure all background checks are complete and getting the offer in writing (and on company stationery I might add).

Fact is, people often get excited about job offers and don't listen well. When I was a sales manager I always discussed termination notices and sent out written job offers with all the details. I requested that the letter be signed & returned to me. No new employee was to quit a current job until they had signed off on my letter.

Keep up the good work, GL. I don't agree with you about Maturi but that's OK, I like your stuff.

BTW, I agree fully with your previous post about not quitting a current job without making sure all background checks are complete and getting the offer in writing (and on company stationery I might add).

I agree with this generally. But as it says in the linked article:

{"Former Oklahoma State head coach Eddie Sutton, who won more than 800 games with five programs, said he's never heard of an athletic director stopping a head coach from hiring an assistant.
"I've always been the one to hire my assistant coaches," Sutton said."}