Iowa City road trip?

BigMan'sGame

Reaction score
The wife and I are contemplating a road trip to Iowa City. Leave Saturday morning, watch the game (hopefully a win), part-A, then stay overnight and drive home Sunday.

Anyone else going? Any suggestions on where to stay/what to do?

Is it a given we'll see Tucker at the bars?

Weather permitting, am making the trip. Weather forecast sounds good so far. With all of Iowa at the Orange Bowl, gotta' be a fighting chance there will be more Gopher fans than Iowa fans. Let's turn it into a mini Barn.

Staying in coralville, heading down Friday night, hotel is cheap, tickets are cheap, 4 day weekend, couldn't be more perfect.

And isn't a minibarn a shed?

FTB, I can hear it now..."Ladies and Gentlemen, Welcome to Carver-Hawkeye Shed!"

We've gone to Iowa City most of the last 10 years...partly because I graduated from Iowa before I moved to Minnesota and got a second degree here. Even learned to boo Iowa. We've always driven down the day of the game and driven back when it's a day game, stayed over for night games. It's an easy drive, only complicated by snow but that's part of winter in Minnesota. I've always gotten my tickets before but this year there will be plenty available outside or even walk-up. Never an easy W on the road but this year will be fun.

We're thinking about staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Coralville. Anyone have hotel insights they care to share?

Also, what route is best? 35 all the way to 80 East?

I am also heading down Saturday morning. We'll be staying at the Heartland Inn. It was recommended by a friend of mine who grew up in Cedar Rapids. The hotel is only a 10 - 15 minute walk to the arena.

My friend also recommended a place called Sluggers for a good burger. There is also a pizza joint called Tomaso's in Cedar Rapids, just off I-380 that was highly recommended as well. I'll probably stop on the way down and have an early lunch.